GARETH Ainsworth said one more win would do it and Wycombe Wanderers duly picked up three points that should secure them League Two safety at Morecambe.

The Blues player-boss watched Stuart Lewis net a second-half winner to secure victory against the Shrimps and take the Chairboys beyond the magical 50-point mark this afternoon.

Wycombe made three changes to the side that lost to Accrington Stanley on Good Friday as Dave Winfield, Matt Spring and Charles Dunne came into the side at the expense of Leon Johnson, Matt McClure, Marvin McCoy.

Wanderers set up defensively and looked compact as a unit, Lewis forcing the first save from Morecambe keeper Andreas Arestidou on 12 minutes following good work from Blues frontman Jo Kuffour.

Spring, making a rare start for the Chairboys, was next to go close as he tried his luck from the edge of the area after diminutive midfielder Josh Scowen had done well to get up and win a flick on in the centre of the park.

The sides went in goalless at the interval, however within moments of the restart it became clear that this game was just starting to spark into life at the Globe Arena.

Morecambe made an electric start to the second period and the woodwork came to the visitors' rescue twice in quick succession as Ryan Williams first sent a drive crashing against the post before Jordan Burrow's header was tipped onto the bar by Matt Ingram.

And just when it looked like the Shrimps were starting to take control, Wanderers produced a devastating response. Former Watford and Luton man Spring delivered a dangerous set-piece and Lewis smashed home after the hosts had failed to clear their lines.

Winfield, back in the side having missed the Stanley fixture due to illness, looked as solid as ever in the Blues defence and might have got on the scoresheet himself were it not for the excellent reflexes of Arestidou in the Morecambe goal.

But one goal proved enough in the end as Wycombe held out for that vital win, which should now secure League Two football at Adams Park for next season.

CHAIRBOYS: Ingram, Winfield, Dunne, Harriman, Doherty, Lewis, Spring, Wood, Grant, Scowen, Kuffour.

Subs (not used): Harrison, Johnson, McCoy, Ainsworth, Andrade, Oli.

Follow us on  Facebook  and  Twitter  for all the latest Wycombe Wanderers news.

Follow me on  Twitter .