Tom Petrie produced a match-winning innings of 74 as Ballinger Waggoners 2s lifted the Mid Bucks Cricket League T/20 Cup.

Starting as clear underdogs against a Ley Hill 2s side who had finished second in Division One, Ballinger opted to bat first, and after Marcus Tingey departed early, Toby Lyons joined Petrie in building a crucial platform, adding 47 at more than a run a ball.

Max Dugdale and Kamal Achuthan came and went, but Petrie was now in full stride, having paced his innings perfectly. Joined by Carlton Siddle, they added 29, and with nearly five overs left, Ballinger were 129-4.

Cue a batting collapse – four wickets in 11 balls – including those of Siddle and Petrie, followed quickly by Ben Dugdale and Matthew O'Kelly, who, suffering from the effects of a big night out, could only muster three runs between them.

Champions: The winning Ballinger Waggoners 2s team

Skipper Paul Branigan was at least on the ball, managing three boundaries as he and Evan Webster added 31 off the last 17 balls as Ballinger finished on 164-8.

After a quick turnaround, Webster went for three sixes and 26 runs in his first two overs, but the wily Siddle conceded just four runs in his first three overs and picking up a wicket in the fourth.

In came Ben Dugdale to make amends, which he did in spades by making a catch off his own bowling, one of two such scalps he claimed on his way to taking 3-29.

It was then time for O'Kelly to make amends too, and he didn’t disappoint, demolishing the stumps with his first ball before a catch in the deep from Pertie gave him figures of 2-19, as Ley Hill finished their reply 28 runs short.